Local Racing Calendar 2011 and PB Apple Squares

by Joanne on May 27, 2011

I was going nuts today looking for the Utica Road Runner Race Calendar.  Look what our club President sent me. This is PERFECT!

2011 Race Calendar Information

JANUARY

1 – Hangover Run – Barneveld – 10 AM – The Bank Tavern

FEBRUARY

5 – Beer & Chili 5K & 10K – Newport, John Slocum, 315-845-8169, jsloc@ntcnet.com

MARCH

5 – America’s Greatest Heart Run & Walk – Utica, 315-266-5403 – Jim Stasaitis – Race Director www.uticaheartrunwalk.org

26 – West Road’s 1st Annual Shamrock Shuffle 5k & Fun Run – Whitesboro – Ryan Misencik – 3315-768-2390, misencik@metlife.com

APRIL

2 – Fort to Fort 5K & 10K – Rome, Cindy Reynolds cinbad1958@aol.com

9 – Hot Foot 5K, Stockbridge Valley, Ray Brych, 315-264-4016, whitetower1960@yahoo.com

16 – 5K for Kidneys – Cass Park, Ithaca – 10 AM – Run or walk – 518-533-7883 www.firstgiving.org/NKF-NENY

23 – 4th Annual OADCC Run for the Children 5K – 8:30 AM – Joe Hatfield jhatfield@bcgcny.com

MAY

1 – Mountain Goat – Syracuse – 10 miles

7 – Ted Moore Run – MVCC – Utica, 9 AM

7 – The Zone Run 10K & 5K, Richfield Springs, Bill Kosina 315-858-0442 jabkos@verizon.net

7 – 23rd Annual Towpath Trail Run 10K & 2 mile – St. Johnsville, 5:30 PM, John Geesler, kgeese@telenet.net

14 – ALS walk/Run – SUNYIT Marcy, 9 AM, www.alsutica.org

22 – National Distance Running Hall of Fame Half Marathon & 5K – Utica – 8 AM – Mary MacEnroe, 315-796-4524, mary@boilermaker.com

23 – 4th Annual OADCC Run for the Children 5K – Oneida, 8:30 AM, Joseph Hatfield, jhatfield@bcgcny.com

29 – Memorial Day Weekend – Cooperstown Sprint Triathlon, Mike Brych atcendurance@gmail.com

JUNE

4 – KAC 5K and children’s races, Clinton, 6:15 PM, Moe LaLonde, 315-853-3073 mlalonde@westmorelandschool.org

5 – 9th Annual New Balance Girls on the Run 5K, Cooperstown, 2PM, Paula Huntsman, phunts@mac.com

11 – 16th Annual Lions Ramble – Fort Plain, NY, 5:30 PM – John Geesler, kgeese@telenet.net

12 – Run for the Violets 5K – Dolgeville, Karin Gressler, run4theviolets@yahoo.com

18 – Miles for Missy 5K – Herkimer – 8:30 AM www.wix.com/abbielynn619/milesformissy#!registration-form

19 – Summer Sizzle, Utica, Paula May, 315-368-3166 pmay@newyorkmills.org

25 – Yellow Brick Road Run 8K, Chittenango, Steve Waite, 315-687-7114 waites30@hotmail.com

JULY

6 – Roadrunner Mile Invitational – Utica – Jim Stasaitis – jstasaitis@boilermaker.com

7 – Madison County Fair Run 5K, Brookfield, Craig North 315-824-2839, southof20@wheelweb.com

10 – Boilermaker Road Race, Utica, 8 AM, Tim Reed, 738-0007, treed@boilermaker.com jstasaitis@boilermaker.com

16 – 3rd Annual 5K Race for ChildRUN!/1M Fun Run Morrisville, Jennifer Britton britt@morrisville.edu

17 – Millers Mills Sundae Run, 5k, Karen Huxtable, 607-435-6321, Karen.huxtable@bassett.org

23 – Ilion Days 5K, Jim Moragne, 315-794-4034 jmoragn1@twcny.rr.com

30 – 40th Annual Honor America Days 5K – Rome – Cindy Reynolds, 315-337-0753, cinbad1958@aol.com

30 – Irish Fest – 5K – Herkimer Fair Grounds, Gail Burke, gburke591@verizon.net

31 – Delta Lake Triathlon – Sprint/Olympic – Mike Brych – mbrych@nhart.org and atcendurance@gmail.com

AUGUST

? – Little Falls Freedom Run 10K & 2 mile, Bart Carrig

5 – Newport Field Days Kick Off 10,000 Meter Run – Bill Moody – wenmoodyus@yahoo.com

6 – Bolder Inspiration of Trenton Falls 5 Mile Run & 1 Mile walk – Rich Karaz rkaraz@gmail.com

6 – Battle of Oriskany Run – 5K & 10 K

6 – Mad.Co. W 5K Run, Nelson, Dick Benner 315-655-8591, windmillr1@twcny.rr.com

7 – Rome Canal Fest – 2K kayak & 5K Run, Cindy Reynolds cinbad1958@aol.com

13 – D.A.R.E. 5K Run – Herkimer – Officer Anthony Brindisi, 315-866-4330 – herkimerdare@yahoo.com

13 – 5th Annual Run for the RACC – Rome, Jason Pare, 315-336-1040 www.romeart.org

13 – Ruth Allen Memorial 4 Mile, Deansboro, Janet Dangler, 315-841-4707, jdangler@oneidaboces.org

14 – Save Our Switchbacks 4.7 mi. – Utica, Mary Ruckel, 315-725-7301 townclerk@roadrunner.com

19 – Woodsman 5K & 10K – Boonville – Al Salmon – asalmon@twcny.com

19 – 21 Turning Stone Races & Half Marathon www.turningstone-eraces.com

27 – Snowmaker 5K – Woods Valley – Paul Gatley pgatley@bartellmachinery.com

SEPTEMBER

10 – Wing Thing 5K, 9 AM, Rome, Jennifer Balog, 315-335-3921 jbalog@syrdiocese.org

17 – Mary Cleary Memorial Run/Walk 5K, Waterville, Dick Zweifel, 315-841-8918 mcleary5k@aol.com

17 – Landis Arboretum 5K, Esperance, Jonathan DiCesare jdicesere@realtyusa.com

18 – Delta Lake Half Marathon – Rome – Ann Meisenhelder, 315-337-3658, ameisenh@twcny.rr.com

24 – Madison Hall 5K Run/Walk, Morrisville, Rich Carreno carrenrj@morrisville.edu

24 – West Winfield CROP Run/Walk, MaryLou Pustay 315-822-5237 copper700@aol.com

25- Falling Leaves 5K & 14K, 8:50 AM, Utica, Mike Brych 315-404-8130 mbrych@nhart.org

OCTOBER

1 – Herkimer ARC 5K – Audrey Hartman, ahartman@herkimerarc.org

1 – 22nd Copper Wire Run – Camden, Matt Johns, Chamber of Commerce, 315-245-5000

1 – CNS 5K – Hamilton, Donna Jarcho, djarcho@twcny.rr.com

1 – Red Ribbon Run-N-Fun – Utica – Samantha McCarthy, 315-733-1709 Samantha@mvcaa.org

2 – Festival of Races – 5K – Syracuse, Dave Oja, 315-446-6285 daveoja@festivalofraces.com

2 – Pitt Run, Oneonta, 10K

2 – Town & Country Run – Boonville

8 – Maine Event 5K & 10K – Brookfield – Charlie Cowen 315- 899- 6281

15 – Eaton 5K Run/Walk – Craig North 315-824-2839 southof20@wheelweb.com

22 – 7th Annual DACC 5K Run/Walk – Delanson, Darcie Adams 518-895-9500 x 114 dadams@dacc.com

NOVEMBER

12 – Mohawk Turkey Trot 5K, Vicki Coffin, vicki.coffin@us.ibm.com

13 – Stockade-athon 15K Road Race, http://stockadeathon.com/

17 – Run for Safety – Utica, Masonic Home, Mike Kessler, 315-724-3315 mkessler1012@adelphia.net

20 – Gail Vernold Memorial Run, Oriskany, Cindy Reynolds cinbad1958@aol.com

24 – 27th Annual Thanksgiving Day Run/Walk to End Hunger, 5K, Utica, 9AM

David Jones ottojones@verizon.net

24 – Thanksgiving Day Prediction Run – Rome Sports Hall of Fame, Cindy Reynolds, cinbad1958@aol.com

 

DECEMBER

3 – Miles for Meals – Rome, 5K, 9 AM, Mike Romano mromano@ocgov.net

10 – Red Nose Run – Little Falls YMCA

AND… make sure you make up some PB Apple Squares to offer a little treat after your run!

Peanut Butter Apple Squares

This is a sweet recipe made in a pinch. Easy and quick.  Don’t expect left overs.

DSC_7189

Makes 25 Squares

DSC_7185

  • 1/2 cup Natural Peanut butter * If you don’t like PB, use butter
  • 4 oz unsweetened apple sauce *If you don’t have apple sauce, use 1/2 of an over ripe mashed banana.
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 apple, peeled and chopped small
  • 1/2 cup chopped dates
  • 1/4 cup chopped nuts

Preheat the oven to 350 F.

Cream the first five ingredients (peanut butter through egg).

In a small bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, salt.  Slowly stir the four mix into the creamed mixture.

Gently stir in the apple, dates, and nuts.

Spread into a 9 x 9 pan that has been sprayed with non stick. Bake for 35 minutes.

DSC_7186

Delish!

DSC_7188

What’s your favorite local race/event?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

3 Comments

  • At 2011.05.27 07:47, McKayla @ Green Groats said:

    Sweet! That is an awesome calendar of local events. So many to choose from!!!

    And, those pb apple squares look to die for. I’ll let you know if I try them…

    My favorite local events: Urban epic tri in portland ME, and the Beach to Beacon in Cape Eliz. ME (hometown)!! It’s nice to race on the roads you can train on and have your whole town cheer for you 🙂
    McKayla @ Green Groats´s last blog post ..Weekend Recap- Run- Smoothie- Swim- Kyia- Field Hockey- Bike!My Profile

    • At 2011.05.27 08:07, Heather said:

      That’s quite the race calendar! I wouldn’t be able to choose!
      My favorite local race is the Run for the Border 5k on cinco de Mayo. There’s no certain course – they give you 3 checkpoints and you have to get to each (and back) on your own with your teammate. It’s super fun!

      • At 2011.05.27 17:52, Gera@Sweets Foods Blog said:

        Exhausted of running after seeing that calendar 🙂 Wow you’ve several races to run.
        You’ll need several batches of those squares to fuel up after so many races – they are scrumptious 🙂

        Have a great weekend!

        Cheers,

        Gera
        Gera@Sweets Foods Blog´s last blog post ..How Busy College Students can Stay HealthyMy Profile

        Previous post:

        Next post: